JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
It appears that I need a new roof on my house. It had a nearly new roof when we bought it less than ten years ago, but apparently it wasn't done very well.

It's a single story house, nothing fancy with the roof, shouldn't be too complicated. Only one side is bad at this time. I've never done a roof before and I'm not a carpenter, but I am fairly handy with such things, and I'm tempted to try my hand at it. I have teenagers in the house who can help. It would be very good for them to supply some muscles and learn to work. On the other hand, I'm not as young as I used to be, and I've never done a roof before.

A friend recommended a good roofer who's going to stop by and look at it next week, but he warned me that he's booked out for the next two months, which puts us into next year because of the rain. It's also about $10k, and right now we're getting ready for the next in a long line of surgeries for my wife (new hip). We're not broke, but it would be very nice if I could do it myself and save some money, maybe do just the one side for now.

I've been warned that roofing is a LOT of physical work, and you have to know what you're doing to do it right and not end up with a mess. Any amateur roofers here, any advice?

I'd use sno seal as a temporary solution. Re roof in the spring so that the shingles will setup during the summer heat. Find a good crew to tackle this laborus and shop for roofing products during the off season. If you plan accordingly. Find the right people. Roofs should last 20 years or more