JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to the AR-15 scene. I have mostly shot handguns, hunting rifles, and bows, but I really want to purchase an AR-15. I have noticed that there are many different brands and configurations. This will be set up strictly for fun/target shooting at no more than 100-150 yards, MAX. What should I look for? What are the differences? Flat Top or A2? Please give me some ideas so I know where to start and what to look for. Thanks!!!

If you want to shoot factory or surplus ammo, and if up to 4 MOA is ok for you, then, a M4 style may suite you. A flat top gives you flexibility: you may attach a handle, red dots, BUIS, or even a 1-4x scope, etc. For the application you describe, 1:9 twist rate and 5.56x45 chambering should be fine. It depends on your budget, too. I was where you are now about 1 1/2 ago. I took my time to learn about AR15 before I made my move. I ended up buying an M4. Yet, I later discovered I really wanted sub-MOA accuracy. An M4 will probably give you just over 1 MOA but only under ideal conditions (scoped, and with match handloaded bullets). Don't spend too much, at first. Save for the next upper, and the next lower, etc. You'll needs lots of it treat your black rifle fever. :)

AR15.Com - Your Firearm Resource. (AR-15, AR-10, M4 Carbine, M16, H&K, SIG, FNH, FAL, AK-47, 50 Cal, M1/M1A, Handgun, Pistol, Training, Hunting, and More!)

OK
I have been over this subject for HOURS,trying to find out all the answers.
I had a Oly arms and wanted some other gun so I sold it.Only manufacturer I have heard much bad about.Nothing big,just not much nice.

Seems all the others are perfect.

Anyway, A2 is the one with the carry handle.I would get the flat top because you can go with or with out the carry handle.The flat top gives you more options for optics