JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi everyone,

I am brand new to this site as I tend to be on Corvair related forums. However, I do own a 1949 Marlin 336 Waffle Top. It has been in the family a long time passed from my father to a brother and then to me. It is in really good condition although it appears my father refinished the stocks. The shoulder stock looks to have some repairs although minor and done really well. He was a true carpenter by trade and knew how to work wood. There is some fading of the bluing on the base of the barrel and on the receiver. The waffle is intact. I will try to upload some pictures once I figure out the process.

I would like to know more about this gun like rating its condition and approximate value. The ultimate goal is to sell it as I know that I will never use it and instead find someone that will enjoy it either in a collection or for hunting.

Thanks in advance,
Rory

I'm willing to try.

1666911926715.png

Yup, I looked it up.

Aloha, Mark

$700 sold to an individual , over on this coast, when people are willing to buy.
RC ( regular carbine) gets about the same or less. SC ( sporting carbine) gets a little more.
As usual, condition is everything. Re-blued is typically a deal killer. Drilled for scope will drop value a bit , but usually just makes collectors pass on it.
Stock repairs aren't as big a deal as problems with the metal. The wrist cracked on these pretty regularly.

That's all pnw/nor cal information. What goes on over there I have no idea.

Last Edited:
Love the Carolinas, but I don't miss the humidity.

Welcome Aboard. Glad you found the forum.

This is the best place to hang out on the internet.