JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm wondering if someone can help me with this rifle I acquired from my elderly dad which he built back in the 70's. It's a 17-222 cal bolt action varment rifle with a 6x Banner scope by Bushbell. The problem is I don't know, and my dad can't seem to help, identify which ammo it takes as there appears to be more than one size of 222 case. He claimed he used a die on some ammo to neck the casings just right but not sure where the die is now. I can find different 17 cal ammo for sale but not sure which case it takes. My dad claims it shoots up to 3800ft/sec. Any idea how I find out what ammo it takes and approximate value?

Thanks.

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

Sounds like a .222 that's been necked down to .17, but I'm no expert.

Pretty slick setup and it's a nice looking rifle.

image.gif

It's a wildcat cartridge. You will need .222 brass and neck it down to make your .17-.222 stuff.

Since it's a wildcat, you will need to find dies that are already made or have some made. Reloading is the only way it appears to go for this case.

Last Edited:
Well, first things first, you need to have a chamber cast poured. Hopefully it is standard dimensions (at least as far as wildcats go) and you can get a set of dies from RCBS or the like.

It is a beautiful rifle. It's built on a 1903 Springfield, but in that caliber and from those pictures, I really can't tell exactly which 1903. It looks shortened (which is possible) and has a headless cocking piece, which are a bit hard to diagnose without the gun in hand.