JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey fellas, I have a cool little Mauser chambered in 300 savage I need help with. I'm trying to identify it and its potential value. Thanks
223AFE61-ED82-4805-8CE5-61FF2386ED12.jpeg 38E2C084-EDB8-4DE1-8156-812EB818A645.jpeg F9CAC75D-2FDF-421C-99D6-F8437DF44D17.jpeg D1B4403D-2745-4062-A9E3-CBA7CBD0F6B2.jpeg CBB452F0-EE54-42DA-A07E-8224709973D5.jpeg

Looks like a very nicely sporterized 1893 or 1895 Mauser.
As for value or worth....bore condition will play a role here....
As well as interest in the workmanship of the sporterizing job.
Andy

Edit to add...
@MountainBear
He outta know more 'bout this sorta thing...:D

I haven't measured the action, but it seems to be a short action, not a standard length like most mausers I've seen.
I'm no Mauser pro, but I thought there were two Mauser action lengths, a standard action, which would be considered a magnum length action for round like .375 H&H and .404 Jeffery...and an intermediate action the was closer in length to a standard length action for rounds like .30-06, 7mm Mauser, etc. and there is nor what we would call a short action. Again, no pro so I could be mistaken.

I'm no expert either, but I remember seeing a Kurz action before and was told that was a short action Mauser..?

Mauser ID:

and:

Bruce

So is the Kurz action a non-military / sporter thing?

Lots of good info, Thanks Gentlemen. I'll have to start taking some measurements. I'm also not saying it's a Kurz action, just saying that at a glance it seemed kinda short.