JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey Folks,

I have a brand new 1873 Cimarron in 357mag that I've taken to the range once. Last week I loaded it with 10 38spl and it went into the safe (in the back of my mind thinking the rounds could compress) well I pulled it out today and it failed to cycle 2 out of the 10 rounds. Because those two were pushed back pretty much to the rim of the casing.

I was hoping to take this as my "road gun" but it would be silly if I cant leave it loaded longer than a day.

What are your thoughts? I'm pretty new to lever guns.

D3DC8F1F-9B48-4F14-A65C-EE8430C38712.jpeg

If I recall, tubular magazines require crimped ammo around a cannelure. Not all pistol ammo are even crimped at all.

Yeah. In a handgun it's not an issue but cheap ammo is often uncrimped to save money on production and thats not great in a tube magazine. Same reason not to use pointed rounds, except the leverevolution, I hear.

The 38 spl are from Freedom Munitons....so they might have skimped out on crimp.

I'll try some other brands and see if anything is different.... with ammo so expensive I don't want to experiment too much!

Those look like un cannelured bullets maybe more suited for 357sig or 38super type rounds, not what you want in a lever. I would doubt even an increase in crimp, if there was any, would help much for a truck gun bouncing down the road either.

I use these https://www.xtremebullets.com/38-158-RNFP-p/xc38-158rnfp-b0500.htm or Hornady https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1018229522?pid=714533 These are the leverolution ammo type. The Hornady's come available as well as the seconds that midway packages that say gray tips but are orange (hint: they are the same). If ya wanna try either let me know.