JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
Reactions
I just had my very first student that I had to turn down due to a prior felony conviction. I felt awful for the guy, who is a stand-up GG, but who also had a felony possession conviction for Heroin in 1986.

Absent concerns over furnishing weapons to a convicted felon, I would have taught this guy and sold him guns in a hot minute. He's a solid Good Guy.

But his conviction stands.

I've ZERO experience in getting someone's rights restored in WA state. What does it take? -Experienced only please reply. Yes, I already told him to talk to a lawyer, but I understand it's doable without one.

Call the county clerk to see what has to be done to get the record expunged.
I think there is some paperwork and monies/fees involved.
It's never 100%/a given.. elapsed time and degree of the crime is involved.
good luck

Mister Bill, I do hope that this guy can be absolved and can get on with his life.

So Redcap, you actually think that a guy with 2 strikes involving violent crime with guns should get all his rights fully restored? So if it was your way & the guy went & got his 3rd strike then who would be to blame? Career criminals should be treated as such and never have the privilege to have those right restored!!!!
Maybe, just maybe then, on a case by case basis but who will want it on their heads that they gave in & then said criminal reverts back to being a criminal? Not me!!!

Mister Bill, I do hope that this guy can be absolved and can get on with his life.

So Redcap, you actually think that a guy with 2 strikes involving violent crime with guns should get all his rights fully restored? So if it was your way & the guy went & got his 3rd strike then who would be to blame? Career criminals should be treated as such and never have the privilege to have those right restored!!!!