JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to hunting. Last year was my first time and I never saw any animals. I have a model 94 30/30 now but it is from 1949 and in very good condition so I don't want to carry it out in the rain any more, and I was told it was under powered for elk. I'm looking at the bi-mart savages w/ scope and was wondering what you all thought of them and what cal. would be best for both deer and elk.

You're probably going to hear a bunch of guys tell you to buy something different and much more expensive. They'll give you all kinds of reasons to pick a different caliber, too. But you'll do just fine with one of those Savage packages and I'd suggest one in 30-06. I use a different gun, but it's chambered in 30-06. No deer or elk I've ever shot needed more than one bullet.:cool:

Every elk I shot with a 30-06 (except my first which I was nervous) required more than one well placed shot.

For all around, do-it-all budget rifle/round I would say .270, and Savage or Remmy. But the argument between '06 and .270 owners is older than I am. (old indeed)
Honestly it would be a toss-up.
Don't let anyone tell you a .308 will keep up over 300 yds., because it won't.

For all around, do-it-all budget rifle/round I would say .270, and Savage or Remmy. But the argument between '06 and .270 owners is older than I am. (old indeed)

:s0155::s0155:

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but from pouring over ballistic charts the .308 is so close to the .06 at 300 yards and out that the difference is very little. Why do you say the .308 will not keep up over 300 yards?
For example a 180 Grain Remington Soft Pointed Core-Lokt in .06 vs the same round in .308 has the following characteristics.
.06 - Range 400 yards, 1864fps, 1388ft-lbs, -48.88 drop
.308 - Range 400 yards, 1800fps, 1294ft-lbs, -52.16 drop