JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to guns and everything that comes along with them, but iv been hearing a lot of concerning news of isis and iv had a couple b&e attempts, I also just got marred and I want to be able to defend her and I. And if it comes to it Take it to the streets and defend my community. I don't have a lot of disposable income so I need your help to make good decisions on how to go about all this

For someone that does not have a lot of experience with firearms, the best thing to do is start with a beginners handgun class. It should be one that gives you class time instruction about everything like safety, holding and firing a gun, basics on the laws and cleaning and storage. Its great if the class also has range time where you can rent a gun, learn how to fire it under direct supervision and also get to test out some common hand guns.

There are several supporting vendors that offer classes which is where I would recommend starting
http://www.northwestfirearms.com/#supporting-vendor-forums.56

Threat Dynamics is right in your area as well
<broken link removed>

The Clackamas county sheriff has a public training center and gun range that is probably reasonably close to you as well for another option

http://www.clackamas.us/sheriff/pstc.html

For defending your home theres two very good relatively inexpensive choices. #1 - a shotgun in either 12 or 20 guage. I would take 12 first as it is the larger bore and more variety in ammo types. Load with 2 3/4 inch buck shot #4 or 00 buck. You can find low recoil loads if you or your bride are recoil sensitive. A used Remington or Mossberg pump gun should be $400 or less.