Welcome to Northwest Firearms
Join our community, sign up for free today!
Sign Up

Hunting Cougars with Dogs - Step #2 - Email Senators!

Messages
432
Reactions
562
Take action and pass it along!

OHA Email Alert

Cougar Bill Vote This Week!

(Week of April 18th)



The Oregon House of Representatives will vote on

HB 2337 the cougar bill this week!



What Can You Do To Help Pass This Bill?

Choose your Representative from the list below. Send an email to your Representative and ask your Representative to vote yes on HB 2337.

SEND YOUR EMAIL BY NOON ON APRIL 20th. DO NOT SEND ANY EMAILS AFTER THAT DATE AND TIME.



What Should Your Email Say?

In the subject line: Vote Yes on HB 2337

Do not cut and paste the points listed below. Make your email your own.



Here is what HB 2337 does:

It requires ODFW Wildlife Commission to create a pilot program that allows persons to use dogs to hunt or pursue cougars. Allows the ODFW Commission to adopt rules to create and implement the pilot program. Allows the county governing body to request inclusion in pilot program. Sunsets January 2, 2020.



Here are some points you may want to use in your email:

(DO NOT CUT AND PASTE THESE. USE YOUR OWN - MAKE YOUR EMAIL YOUR OWN)

* This bill allows for the development of a pilot program for select county cougar management zones
* The pilot program’s primary goals are to reduce cougar conflicts and to assess cougar populations
* Counties can opt to take part in the program, they do not have to do it
* Oregon has a wildlife management problem and HB 2337 allows counties to deal with that problem
* It gives the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife the tools to deal with big game depredation and assist them in obtaining big game management objectives
* It puts cougar management back in the hands of the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife



CHOOSE YOUR REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE LIST BELOW. REMEMBER: DO NOT SEND EMAILS AFTER NOON ON WEDNESDAY APRIL 20TH.









Representative Jules Bailey - rep.julesbailey@state.or.us
D-Portland
District 42

Representative Jeff Barker -rep.jeffbarker@state.or.us
D-Aloha
District 28

Representative Phil Barnhart -rep.philbarnhart@state.or.us
D-Central Lane and Linn Counties
District 11

Representative Cliff Bentz -rep.cliffbentz@state.or.us
R-Ontario
District 60

Representative Vicki Berger -rep.vickiberger@state.or.us
R-Salem
District 20

Representative E. Terry Beyer -rep.terrybeyer@state.or.us
D-Springfield
District 12

Representative Deborah Boone -rep.deborahboone@state.or.us
D-Cannon Beach
District 32

Representative Katie Eyre Brewer -rep.katieeyrebrewer@state.or.us
R-Hillsboro
District 29

Representative Peter Buckley - rep.peterbuckley@state.or.us
D-Ashland
District 5





Representative Kevin Cameron - rep.kevincameron@state.or.us
Party: R District: 19 Four Corners

Representative Ben Cannon - rep.bencannon@state.or.us
Party: D District: 46 Portland (SE and NE Portland, including the landmark neighborhoods of Mt. Tabor, Montavilla, Laurelhurst, Foster-Powell, and Lents)

Representative Brian L. Clem -rep.brianclem@state.or.us
D-Salem
District 21

Representative Jason Conger - rep.jasonconger@state.or.us
R-Bend
District 54

Representative Jean Cowan - rep.jeancowan@state.or.us
D - Newport
District 10

Representative Michael Dembrow -rep.michaeldembrow@state.or.us
D-Portland
District 45 (NE Portland, Maywood Park and Parkrose)

Representative Margaret Doherty - rep.margaretdoherty@state.or.us
D-Tigard
District 35

Representative Sal Esquivel - rep.salesquivel@state.or.us
R-Medford
District 6

Representative Lew Frederick - rep.lewfrederick@state.or.us
D-Portland
District 43

Representative Tim Freeman - rep.timfreeman@state.or.us
R-Roseburg
District 2

Representative Bill Garrard - rep.billgarrard@state.or.us
R-Klamath Falls
District 56

Representative Chris Garrett - rep.chrisgarrett@state.or.us
D-Lake Oswego
District 38

Representative Sara Gelser - rep.saragelser@state.or.us
D-Corvallis
District 16

Representative Vic Gilliam - rep.vicgilliam@state.or.us
R-Molalla, Silverton
District 18

Representative Mitch Greenlick - rep.mitchgreenlick@state.or.us
D-Portland (Northwest Portland and Northern Washington County)
District 33

Representative Bruce Hanna - rep.brucehanna@state.or.us
R-Roseburg
District 7

Representative Chris Harker - rep.chrisharker@state.or.us
D-Washington County
District 34

Representative Wally Hicks - rep.wallyhicks@state.or.us
R-Grants Pass
District 3

Representative Paul Holvey - rep.paulholvey@state.or.us
D-Eugene
District 8

Representative Val Hoyle - rep.valhoyle@state.or.us
D-West Eugene, Junction City, Cheshire and Alvadore
District 14



Representative John E. Huffman - rep.johnhuffman@state.or.us
R-The Dalles
District 59

Representative Dave Hunt - rep.davehunt@state.or.us
D-Clackamas County
District 40

Representative Bob Jenson - rep.bobjenson@state.or.us
R-Pendleton
District 58

Representative Mark Johnson - rep.markjohnson@state.or.us
R-Hood River
District 52

Representative Bill Kennemer - rep.billkennemer@state.or.us
R-Oregon City
District 39

Representative Betty Komp - rep.bettykomp@state.or.us
D-Woodburn
District 22

Representative Tina Kotek - rep.tinakotek@state.or.us
D-North/NE Portland
District 44

Representative Wayne Krieger - rep.waynekrieger@state.or.us
R-Gold Beach
District 1

Representative Shawn Lindsay - rep.shawnlindsay@state.or.us
R-Hillsboro
District 30

Representative Greg Matthews - rep.gregmatthews@state.or.us
D-Gresham
District 50

Representative Mike McLane - rep.mikemclane@state.or.us
R-Powell Butte
District 55

Representative Nancy Nathanson - rep.nancynathanson@state.or.us
D-Eugene
District 13

Representative Mary Nolan - rep.marynolan@state.or.us
D-Portland
District 36

Representative Andy Olson - rep.andyolson@state.or.us
R-Albany
District 15

Representative Julie Parrish - rep.julieparrish@state.or.us
R-Tualatin/West Linn
District 37

Representative Tobias Read - rep.tobiasread@state.or.us
D-Beaverton
District 27

Representative Dennis Richardson - rep.dennisrichardson@state.or.us
R-Central Point
District 4

Representative Arnie Roblan - rep.arnieroblan@state.or.us
D-Coos Bay
District 9

Representative Michael Schaufler - rep.mikeschaufler@state.or.us
D-Happy Valley
District 48

Representative Patrick Sheehan - rep.patricksheehan@state.or.us
R-Clackamas
District 51



Representative Greg Smith - rep.gregsmith@state.or.us
R-Heppner
District 57

Representative Jefferson Smith - rep.jeffersonsmith@state.or.us
D-Portland
District 47

Representative Sherrie Sprenger - rep.sherriesprenger@state.or.us
R-Scio
District 17

Representative Kim Thatcher -rep.kimthatcher@state.or.us
R-Keizer
District 25

Representative Jim Thompson - rep.jimthompson@state.or.us
R-Dallas
District 23

Representative Carolyn Tomei - rep.carolyntomei@state.or.us
D-Milwaukie
District 41

Representative Matt Wand - rep.mattwand@state.or.us
R-Troutdale
District 49

Representative Jim Weidner - rep.jimweidner@state.or.us
R-Yamhill
District 24

Representative Gene Whisnant - rep.genewhisnant@state.or.us
R-Sunriver
District 53

Representative Matt Wingard - rep.mattwingard@state.or.us
R-Wilsonville
District 26



Representative Brad Witt - rep.bradwitt@state.or.us
D-Clatskanie
District 31
 
Messages
7,083
Reactions
10,159
I have often wondered how many 'serious' cougar hunters there were in Oregon that used dogs prior to the ban. Were they the #1 factor that kept the population numbers in check?
 
Messages
327
Reactions
48
The fed trapped just killed three near me. One reason I will not have anything to do with the Humane society, is that had heavy sensationalized anti-cougar hunting ads to promote the original passing of the bill, where dogs could not be used to hunt cats. Sadly it is the people in the city who pays for that mistake, it is the people who are in the rural areas. F&G are more capable at managing our wild life than self appointed protectors of the wild life folks.
 

NEW CLASSIFIED ADS

LATEST REVIEWS

  • Revelation Arms
    1.00 star(s)
    I will preface this with the fact that this poor reference is only based on my experience...
    • trekkerpaul
  • Wildcat Mountain
    5.00 star(s)
    This is my family's and my selfs favorite spot to go for hand gun practice and just plinking...
    • Tccae708
  • Adaptive Firing Solutions
    5.00 star(s)
    What a great deal on transfers. Good guy and he makes it very easy. He had fast communication...
    • glorydays4ever
  • Cerberus Training Group
    5.00 star(s)
    Feedback from John Wells-Henderson, an avid shooter re: the 1-day Run the Gun Pistol class...
    • rutilate
  • Cerberus Training Group
    5.00 star(s)
    Here was a review from John Wells-Henderson, an experienced rifle shooter from the 1-day Run the...
    • rutilate

Staff online