JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello! I am very interested in turning my love for firearms into a new trade and currently looking for a Gunsmithing Apprenticeship and or AR-15 building in the Wilsonville area (or not to far away) and wanted to ask the folks here if they could suggest some leads for me to pursue. I work as a mechanical/assembly technician Mon-Fri 10-6 which I have a lot of experience with and would love to find a position for Saturdays as an apprentice learning from a professional. I have called around to a couple shops and have gotten a good response from people but no luck just yet and thought posting a thread here would generate some good leads as the people and information on Northwestfirearms.com is always reliable.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks ahead of time :)

Last Edited:
The only real apprentice programs I know of are in Europe. You learn everything from the ground up. Not just assembling. Turning blank barrels, inletting stocks. Building parts from scratch. Best gunsmith I ever knew trained in germany for 4years. Saw him start with a 98k and build it into a takedown with double set triggers, a claw mount scope, and a checkered walnut stock. Everything built from scratch.

There was one shop here south of Portland that had already taken an apprentice on so they declined. I don't agree that it is a European thing.

When My Grandfather was an apprentice you stood by a master and watched for a year, when you were 12 YO. Then you forged iron into steel, then you made a cube of steel/ made a sphere from that cube, then you case hardened that sphere, then you turned that sphere into a clock spring.
After that your training started, You would have paid the equivalent of $6000 just to get to that point, and there was no tenure because each master signed-off on your abilities