JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My buddy is doing some LEO training and was able to get me a mix bag of brass from the training. Before depriming I run the brass in the tumbler to clean it up.

Well yesterday after emptying the tumbler and sorting the brass I found two (2) live rounds. One 9mm and one .40.

Guess I got lucky that neither round went off while tumbling.

Guys who like their ammo to look bright and shiny tumble finished rounds all the time. Google it.
It takes a significant impact to set off a primer. That's why weak striker fired guns sometimes won't fire a round.

Newbie here but I always deprime and clean the primer pocket before tumbling. Am I doing it wrong? :)

Yes or No, I deprime after tumbling. Cleaning primer pockets is a pain depending on you tumbling media. If I deprime after tumbling cleaning primer pockets only happens rarely.
Most primer pocket cleaning is only done on new brass.

Newbie here but I always deprime and clean the primer pocket before tumbling. Am I doing it wrong? :)

It is up to you, for instance, I clean the spent brass after the range, I toss them in the tumbler for 2-3 hours, I then deprimes/resized the empty cartridges, toss them back in the tumbler to get rid of the wax/lube that remained in the spent casing after depriming/resizing. I then clean the primer pocket, then toss them into the tumbler for the last time to get rid of any other remaining residue. I do not think this is a common practice, it takes a few more extra step in preparing the brass for reloading, this method works for me. In any case prepping the brass takes the most work when It comes to reloading.

I'm still waiting for proof that tumbling a live round, or for that matter a whole batch, will actually cause them to "explode".

Lots of talk but no proof. Pictures would be nice.