JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been cutting firewood now for 15 years in the same FS designated area. Suddenly, this year there is apparently a problem that involves a timber sale in the designated firewood cut area. According to the Forest Service this has been an ongoing issue for the past 5 years so the "suddenly" part of things has me scratching my head. On top of this the area is also closed down because of a beetle issue. REALLY??? Beetles in a forest???? Who'da thunk it!!! I grew up in southeast Wyoming and there is a HUGE amount of beetle kill stretching from Colorado way into Wyoming. The NFS/BLM don't even require permits for firewood anymore they just want the wood out of the forest to help reduce fire danger. Why the local NFS can't see the logic of getting fuel out of the forest amazes me.

The FS says if I can identify an area for wood cutting they "might" issue me a special use permit. Of course, I have to identify the area then the FS has to go out and see if the area fits within their criteria. Same with the BLM. I can go identify a blow down tree, tell them the location, they check it out, and then they might allow me to cut it.

It is so mind boggling to me that I literally live in the heart of he timber capitol of the world with more trees and wood than you can even begin to imagine and there are no firewood areas anymore. It's kind of like a guy alone in the middle of the Pacific with water everywhere and nothing to drink.

Over the years I've found that BLM and FS employees realize they have the public by the short hairs. Customer service isn't in their lexicon at all. I'm not a violent person but I just want to punch them in the face.