JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
If it can make a difference in my mind, it'll make a difference on paper. If I'm 100% confident that each cartridge has the exact same amount of powder in it, I won't doubt it when launching them downrange.

It's a confidence in the product type of thing I guess you could say. And I have seen .2gr make a very noticeable difference on paper with certain cartridges.

Just my process and parameters. Doesn't necessarily work for anyone else.
Totally understand that. Confidence makes you worry less and less worry=better concentration. Perhaps it really doesn't need a test.

I have a pair of RCBS Chargemaster Lite's I use for my precision rifle loads. I run them at the same time so I am not waiting much for the next charge. Set them on auto and go. By the time I have moved my funnel and dumped a charge the next one is done weighing out the next charge and I repeat. No complaints at all with them. At $260 each, it's not too huge of a hit. I started with one and got the second to speed things up.

Edit: I run Varget mostly for my .308 rounds so the inconsistent little cylinder powder. Meeters fine with these. Guys have do "McDonalds" straws they shove in the output to try to make them flow quicker etc. I have had no need too as they work great as built. (this is coming from a guy the modifies everything and does it for a living!)

044-98940.jpg

Yes. As I'm sure you're well aware, the throw weight will change as the powder level drops/increases. Even with a baffle installe

Depending on how anal you are about the exactness of the charge weight, small adjustments may be necessary as the column height varies, even with consistent throw technique.