JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Last night I loaded some 338 Win Mag bullets with three different loads for testing. Two of them were compressed loads and I could hear the powder crunching down. I have never built or shot a compressed load before, so do I need to watch out for anything or am I taking too much of a chance? I am following some decent data that says compressed load, like I said, I have never tried this before. Any help would be well appreciated. Thanks.

I have loaded .338 compressed loads with good results. I believe it is safe if you are using reliable data. Not everything on the net is reliable, and not everything in (some)reloading manuals is reliable either. Usually the compressed loads are worked up from lower charges that are not compressed, and I work up very gradually at the upper end with all my rifle loads. Many times the best load with a powder is not max. What is your load?

Did it state in the book that it was a compressed load? I have reloaded this type in 300 mag. and the only issue I have noted is the primer pocket will sometimes become oversized to the point of being non usuable.

I have loaded .338 compressed loads with good results. I believe it is safe if you are using reliable data. Not everything on the net is reliable, and not everything in (some)reloading manuals is reliable either. Usually the compressed loads are worked up from lower charges that are not compressed, and I work up very gradually at the upper end with all my rifle loads. Many times the best load with a powder is not max. What is your load?

I am testing a Nosler Accubond 250 gr. My test loads are IMR 4350 @ 69,70,and 71 gr.

Speer book says 69gr max for that combo.
IMR says 69.5gr max

Are you sure you are looking at 300mag and not ultra mag info?