JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok guys are there any pistoleros here??
I'm just getting started. I got a Pietta 1851 in 36 cal. with brass frame in a kit and just a few days ago got it finished. Wasn't too big a job because the cylinder and barrel came already blued. The loading lever/ram, hammer and, trigger are CC Hardened.
The add on Dixie said it was in the white, but it wasn't. Probably someone packed the blued parts by mistake, but I'm not complaining since the blue job is quite nice. So all I had to do was file and sand and polish the brass frame and trigger / grip frame and whittle the grip to suit me, and put it back together.I haven't shot it yet, I didn't have caps for it, and we've been getting some good rains here to boot, and I don't want to rust it too soon, I'd cry! :s0058:
So I hope there are others here who will share their experiences, and brags or cries with the rest of us. :s0082:
Don't you just love those silly smilies?
Gabby

I have owned and own a number of cap and ball revolvers , both original and replica.
They have all been fun to shoot.
I was given a brass framed copy of a Colt Navy many years ago . The load I use in it is 15 to 18 grains of 2F a greased felt wad and a .375 round ball.
When shooting yours be sure to grease the front of the cylinder to prevent a "chain fire."

All of the cap and ball revolvers I have owned or shot , have shot high excepting my original Colt 1860 Army and Colt Second Gen. Dragoon.
Andy

I have a revolver I bought from a member here. I've not yet shot it - just been a time issue. I've got everything I need now, just need a few hours to get to the range uninterrupted and start the process.