Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Can I give my uncle in WA a gun?

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by user, Apr 9, 2014.

1. user

user Corvallis, OR Member

I built a sweet little 1911 for my uncle in WA. I'm an OR resident. Is it legal if I give it to him? What if my aunt makes me cookies?

2. solv3nt

solv3nt Portland Well-Known Member

Yes, if you go through an FFL in Washington.

3. user

But I'm going to have my aunt make me some cookies. Lol

4. solv3nt

Mmmmm.... Coooooookies.....

5. solv3nt

I believe that there's an FFL in Vancouver that will do the transfer fr $10. In Washington, the individual doesn't pay for the background check like Oregon, so it's much cheaper for transfers.

6. user

Is there a wait on pistols in WA?

7. Cheby

Cheby Portland, OR Active Member

8. BigStick

BigStick Sherwood, OR Well-Known Member

I think it is 3 days (might be 5) unless you have your CPL, then you can walk out as soon as the background check and paperwork clear. You could check out the RCW, don't remember which section that is in: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?Cite=9.41

You could loan it to him, long term with no FFL, but if it a permanent transfer you need to.

9. BigStick

BigStick Sherwood, OR Well-Known Member

And that use tax really pisses me off. Especially on second, third, fourth hand guns. They tax it every step of the way. Same with cars, it's really messed up. Another reason to fight tooth and nail against background checks and registrations, so they can't tax us more.

10. user

We both have our concealed he has CPL I have CHL.
    Because "pistol" is politically incorrect. Lol
    Thanks for the helps guy's!

11. user