JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I bought a Ruger 10/22 from Bi-Mart about a month or so ago. Unfortunately, I didn't notice until now I attached the scope mount that the barrel or rear sight is slightly off. It seems as if the barrel is rotated just a little too far clockwise (staring down the business end). I'm new to rifles and I'm not sure how to fix this. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm not sure if these pics will help, but here's a couple...

Last edited by a moderator:
Please don't get into the habit of staring down the business end. If you have to in order to clean the rifle, double check, and then triple check to make sure the firearm is unloaded, and lock the bolt to the rear. Even better would be go get a bore snake so you can clean from the breech to the muzzle, instead of using a cleaning rod and doing it the other way around. This also protects the crown of the muzzle from being damaged by a cleaning rod.

The barrel on a 10/22 uses a clamp at the lower front of the receiver. The barrels are not threaded into the receiver.

I would suggest that you take the gun to the range to determine if the rifle puts the bullets where you aim them. If they do, there's nothing worry about.

You will notice that both the front and rear sights are sitting in dovetail groves machined into the barrel. You should be able to drift them to the right or left to change their relation to the axis of the bore, and also in relation to eachother. I would recommend using a brass punch so you do not damage the sights or mar the finish.

If you are uncomfortable doing this yourself, any decent gunsmith can perform this operation for you.

Hope this helps!

BGRF

Ah, that makes things easier than I thought. I was afraid the barrel was screwed in or that the sight was permanently fixed where it is.