JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to the AR scene and recently purchased a used but fairly new rifle with an 18" barrel with rifle length porting. The BCG is a full auto style and the buffer/spring assembly is a bit heavier than stock (I believe). It will cycle with some (but not all) heavier, stronger ammo but will not cycle with rounds such such as Federal 55 gr. I believe it is short stroking because it will fire and eject but not pick up the next round and will not hold the bolt open after the last round is fired. i need to manually pull the charge handle between shots. My question is what is the proper relationship between gas port length, Carrier group mass and buffer spring mass and stiffness. It seems I may be out of balance or I need a different combination to shoot lighter ammo. I swapped the BCG and buffer into my brothers 16" Stag and it cycled flawlessly with the federal ammo. I have stripped it and cleaned it, etc. Any thoughts?
Thanks

Have you checked to see if you gas block is aligned properly or fouled. Heavier loads would cause more pressure and overcome the problem that lighter rounds can't. More gas following the bullet than being channeled into the gas tube.

It can be nearly impossible to remove a gas tube without damaging it. Be prepared for frustration if you try, and maybe have a spare around!

Gunsmith is your friend. But if you are adventurous you can Youtube some videos on how to remove and install the gas block. I would try squirting some powder blaster down the tube and then follow up with compressed air. If that doesn't work then time for a smith or DIY. Was this rifle bought new, used, or home built?