JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Really depends on your AR. I have 2 thermolds with Canadian maple leaf on 'em. They fit my Colt just fine, but my Aero precision lowers (both of them) are a bit finicky. I can get them to seat, but it takes a bit of pressure. They do not drop free when the mag release is pushed on any of my rifles, and have to be assisted out of the well, so I only use them for range mags. I got mine at a yard sale this summer, and would not buy them again. Stick with aluminum mil surp mags. That's my opinion anyway.
Chris

I have no actual experience but I read some stuff recently researching Thermold magazines that some of the Canadian ones used a different polymer/plastic composition and the Canadian military got rid of them because they would melt a bit under full auto fire/heavy use. I'm not sure to the veracity of that story, but you should Google them some also. It might not even be a problem for normal use that doesn't make your gun piping hot.

the Canadian military got rid of them because they would melt a bit under full auto fire/heavy use.

I would love to see a link to that article. I am having a hard time imagining a mag well getting hot enough to melt a polymer magazine. Cheap handguards, maybe, but the mag? I could be wrong, stranger things have happened, but I am a bit skeptical.

I bought some for the same reasons cheap $6.20 ea. But they suck brake easy and don't feed all the time. They are very cheaply made i wouldn't buy them again. But i'm sure there is someone that just loves um.
because the don't have a pmag!

I would love to see a link to that article. I am having a hard time imagining a mag well getting hot enough to melt a polymer magazine. Cheap handguards, maybe, but the mag? I could be wrong, stranger things have happened, but I am a bit skeptical.