JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Anyone out there have a preferred powder for pushing the 180grn (.430") Hornady XTP bullet in the 44 Rem Mag? I've used Titegroup with good results but I know that powder isn't the end-all powder for the broad range of loads and velocities in this caliber. Also, I would be interested to hear about a favorite target-only recipe that you may have regardless of components used. I'm new to loading the 44 mag, but not to handloading and I feel any advice when starting a new load is good advice. Thanks

I have no experience with the 180gr... but for target use, I really like 240gr hardcast SWC, over unique. Accurate enough for hitting soda cans. For a bigger bang, I use WW296 with the same bullet.

Deer kilts has me picturing an old Gary Larson/Farside cartoon strip! I'm cookin' loads for a Redhawk and I will probably try some H110 pretty soon.

Kilt=Killed backwoods spelling. lol

I've also been trying some 225grn Barnes bullets. they grouped awesome. I shot some it shale rock and the stood up great. Maybe Ill get to use them this year on a animal. Used AA No. 9.

Deer kilts has me picturing an old Gary Larson/Farside cartoon strip! I'm cookin' loads for a Redhawk and I will probably try some H110 pretty soon.

i use h110 for all my jacketed rounds. i think i used 27 grains for 200 grain bullet. the fire that emits from the barrell is about the size of a volkswagen. Last time I fired it, some guy thought I had a 460.