JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I had a nephew in from out of town, he wanted to do the tourist stuff and I'm new to this part of Oregon, so I didn't mind. On the list was checking out the salmon runs at the dam, since its that time of year. I've carried so long sometimes I forget I have it on me, so as we drove up to the entrance and the armed security guard stepped forward, I was kind of taken by surprise when he asked one and only one question: "are there any guns in the vehicle?"

He seemed far more surprised by my answer, when I said "yes". He took a step back, and asked if I was a police officer, I said no, he took another step back and put his hand over the top of his holstered handgun. I calmly told him I have a CHL and I have my carry gun on me, at which point he told me I could not enter, and would have to turn my vehicle around (we were allowed to view the fish hatcheries... yawn).

I have a small electronic combination safe bolted to the floor under the passenger seat, in case I find myself needing to go to a courthouse or some other place where I can't carry, but this was not that type of situation. He was not telling me that I could not enter the building armed, he was telling me that firearms are not allowed on the premises at all.

I suppose I should brush up on the types of places we can't carry, its been a while since I got my CHL. Dams/power plants do not appear on the list the county provides, and I am not aware if it is considered a federal property (I know it was constructed by the Army Corps of Engineers with federal funding, but I thought that Oregon "owns" it). Not sure what the deal is, maybe some anti-terrorist thing? I'm pretty sure you can't carry (if enter at all) at nuclear power plants.