JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on the forum. I'm an inexperienced shooter, trying to learn.

I am hoping to attend an appleseed project weekend on the east coast (not sure which one yet, just planning in the works). I like the approach of rifleman being a basic skill, not to mention tied to our history.

I have a question, and I know that there was some mention of this on another thread about appleseed:

Would I be better off attending this event with an AK-47 (wasr) or AK-74 (tantal)? I know their site says it's the shooter not the bullet, and I know ammo for the 47 is much more available than for the 74, so on the one hand I would like to bring the ak47. On the other hand, the ak-74 is supposedly exponentially more accurate.

I'm going to purchase one or the other, have found dealers with models that are basically the same price. I know the ammo for the 74 is less easy to get, so I would love to just go with the 47 but I'm on the fence. If it's just not accurate enough, I can go with the 74 and just order ammo from whatever is available. But I want to make the right pick.

Help me get my head on straight here, folks. Which one is better for appleseed? Will the ak-47 wasr get me that practical accuracy? Will it get me that 210 on the AQT? Or should I opt for the ak-74 tantal?

Thanks for the help.

Get the one with plenty of ammo available. Beside using it in appleseed project you can take it out for target shooting and practice using it effective, those can cause you around thounsand of rounds..... I say go for the ak47.

AK74 surplus ammo is 1/3rd the cost of AK47 ammo.

Yeah, basically what I've seen so far is that ammo for the 47 is more widely available, but the 74's a bit cheaper, perhaps because you basically have to get it in bulk.