JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So i recently came into a lil bit of extra money and have always wanted a 44 revolver...The first name that runs through MY head, is Ruger, but i am relativley new (not a total noob, i've shot alot of different things & have a few rifles) but i'd say an intermidiate level shooter...I have never owned a revolver & was just curious what should i look for? What do u guys own/know about or what would you recomend getting or researching? As a general idea, I want a double action, 6 to 8 in. barrel .44....Any help/recomendations would be HIGHLY appreciated.
thanx
Oh, price range...i would like to stay in the $400 to $500 range, but could go a bit higher if it gives me a big enough hard-on, haha...

Depends on what you are looking for. The Rugers seem to take heavier loads better, but the S&Ws seem more comfortable, and have a much nicer SA and DA trigger.

Probly the more S&W route then...Like i said i have never owned a revolver, so i'd probly wanna go with the easier to use at this point...

Probly the more S&W route then...Like i said i have never owned a revolver, so i'd probly wanna go with the easier to use at this point...

Well they are both equally easy to use, there are just a couple engineering business. A good comparison is that the ruger is like a linebacker, it can take a lot of constant abuse, but is not very refined, and the S&W is like a running back, lighter and more nimble, but can still take some good hits.

Both have ups and downs, but as far as S&W, I would go with a used older gun without the lock, since with the newer guns, S&W has cut corners to save money. I don't know anything about if a newer or older ruger is better, or if there is any difference with those.