JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Double Down On Doomsday Builds - The .223 By Four - The Firearm Blog

2X4.jpg

I have to wonder what the ATF would think of that.

A person could find some really hard dense wood and maybe use an 80% jig somehow.
Actually, there is very little stress imparted to the lower receiver through the action of firing the rifle. I think the wood receiver would hold up just as well as any polymer...... for awhile anyway, until the screws and connection/fastener points began to wear.

I have to wonder what the ATF would think of that.

A person could find some really hard dense wood and maybe use an 80% jig somehow.

I doubt it would be a problem. 80% lowers are just fine. This would simply be a 0% lower. I'm not an expert, but based on what I do know, I believe you can create your own lower, from scratch, legally. I'm open to any correction if that is wrong.

I doubt it would be a problem. 80% lowers are just fine. This would simply be a 0% lower. I'm not an expert, but based on what I do know, I believe you can create your own lower, from scratch, legally. I'm open to any correction if that is wrong.

Until you have to take it down to whichever alphabet agency is created, to get a picture of it serialized...

...Ohh California. Whatever happened to you? Please come back...

I was thinking more about the material.

I am pretty sure it would not make a difference legally, but I kind of wonder whether the ATF would go to court if someone made and sold a 100% lower from a 2x4 and how that would fly in court, especially if it looked crude.

I was thinking more about the material.

I am pretty sure it would not make a difference legally, but I kind of wonder whether the ATF would go to court if someone made and sold a 100% lower from a 2x4 and how that would fly in court, especially if it looked crude.