JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm halfway done with a homemade rifle stock, now ready to make a buttplate. I see universal grind-to-fit kits on the market, but none are quite big enough, so I'm thinking to source a raw block of _______ and make one from scratch. Will any old rubber work if frozen first? If not, what should I get and how to shape it? Casting might be in some ways preferred, I imagine, but I have no experience with that.

I REALLY read that wrong at first…..:D

Yeah, I'll refrain from my usual schtick and roll with your inference….

:s0112:

I'm halfway done with a homemade rifle stock, now ready to make a buttplate. I see universal grind-to-fit kits on the market, but none are quite big enough, so I'm thinking to source a raw block of _______ and make one from scratch. Will any old rubber work if frozen first? If not, what should I get and how to shape it? Casting might be in some ways preferred, I imagine, but I have no experience with that.

Just how danged BIG is the end of that stock you made that you can find a large enough piece of material to fit it?

Are you making a butt PLATE or PAD?

If a soft PAD then just find a solid or corrugated style and shape to fit. Something that MIGHT work is a chunk of thick bedliner material. That stuff is pretty dense and might work - and pretty cheap or free.

If you are making a PLATE then that is a different issue and you would have a myriad of things you could use - hard plastic, steel aluminum, brass.

I guess I am just a little unclear as to what it is you are actually making.

One of my projects is I need to extend the stock on one of my Winchesters about a 1/2" as whoever re-stocked it cut it a bit short and I need a little more LOP for my long ape arms!