JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
All of these mass shootings have me thinking. I really do believe the real issue is finding a way to help these people (the shooters) before they reach that breaking point. In many of these cases the shooter is not what we would term a criminal, until he carries out these acts. In other words, it isn't a bunch of street thugs, or gang bangers, or crackheads. These are people who, after the fact, people recall as being "off." Something not quite right. Didn't fit in. Or someone who was going through a very emotional time (divorce, loss, etc).

I was a student, in fact student vice president, at Thurston High School (I graduated a few years before the shooting). I knew the Kinkels. I took their daughter out camping with us. Kinkel senior was my Spanish teacher. Even then, we knew something was not right with Kip. Friends I have spoken with recall Mr. Kinkel talking about trying to get him help.

What I worry about now is people not getting the help they need because they are worried about being labeled as dangerous, and losing the freedoms we all have. There was a time when I was having some trouble with stress. I won't go into details, but it got pretty dark for a while. Eventually, I had to admit to myself that I couldn't handle it alone and went to someone to talk about it. Turned out I had a simple chemical imbalance that was easily fixed with a daily supplement. Been great since.

But would I do it now, knowing that they might take all my guns away because they think I am a risk?

I am just worried that through all of this trying to stop these attacks we may end up creating more monsters because they are afraid to come forward.