JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Greetings all, noob here but not new to posting forums.

I am voraciously reading and talking to everyone I know about CC and all the details from when, where, how, training etc. I just received mine today and there is one topic am really undecided on. There seems to be two sides to this issue and am trying to figure out what is the best for me. The questions is:

Should you chamber a round with safety on while carrying or rack a round if in a situation?

Curious to what thoughts and opinions are and know everyone has those :)

Thanks in advance

I did a quick search but didn't find anything, I'm like most people, want it now...lol!

My EDC is a Glock 26 or 19, neither of which have a manual safety which would be defined as carry condition 0, meaning round chambered, full magazine loaded, safety ( n/a on a Glock) off.....condition 3, what you are describing, empty chamber, hammer uncocked, loaded magazine in weapon.
With that said, I have been carrying a sidearm for many years, both in military service as well as a civilian.

If you are new to the CCW scene, don't rush to carry in a certain condition because someone says so. Learn to be proficient, safe and comfortable with your weapon. Take some training courses and learn to safely draw and holster your weapon from a good fitting, professional grade holster that will be comfortable to wear day in and day out. After a while you will know when the time is right to move into a different carry condition and will not feel the least bit uncomfortable wearing your sidearm....in fact, you'll feel naked without it.

Round chambered. I was kinda of, I don't want to say scared, when i first entered the firearm world but as long as you have a quality holster and don't skimp on this, you'll be golden brown.