JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
The question I have is, if you own a stamped FA m16/AR-15 lower receiver, and are in good standing with the NFA laws, blah blah, can you attach a short barrel to it, or do you also have to have a separate stamp for the SBR part?

Sorry if this has been answered before, I could not find it...:oops:

I am no expert, but my understanding is the suppressor is its own firearm as far as the feds are concerned, I suspect that if the machine gun in question was orginally built with an integral suppressor from the manufacturer than it would be a one stamp affair? But if you were to modify an existing one it would take a second stamp because you are building a new "firearm" in the form of a suppressor. That is just a guess though. I suspect Scared knows "for real" :D

They come up on gunbroker from time to time. The machinegun trumps the SBR but does not blanket for silencers. It's still two stamps. Example: integrally suppressed MP5 with a registered sear pack takes two stamps. There are a few floating around and they pop up on gunbroker from time to time.

ETA: Here are some guys(who at least claim to own them) discussing the finer points of multi stamp firearms.
http://www.ar15.com/archive/topic.html?b=6&f=50&t=401591

Last Edited:
Did a little further research. It appears that at one time the ATF DID do the MP5SD
on a single stamp--but only for a very short time. Currently it's a 2 stamp deal.
One for the gun/sear whatever, and one for the integral suppressor.

Correct. The second sentence hits the nail on the head.

From the link I provided: