JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to muzzleloaders. I have reloaded center fire ammo for a little over 10 years. When I do that I weigh my charges. On loose BP do I weigh it or go by volume? The brass powder measures can't be that safe if I'm doing say 90gn
I see they make plastic tubes that I can put powder in. To me weighting 90gn and then poring it in a plastic tube seems safer and more consistent.

A brass powder measure is very safe...
As is a hand made bone or antler one.
Same for a brass powder flask...or a powder horn made of cow or buffalo horn.

Traditional Black powder loads for muzzle loaders are measured by volume

As a general rule...
Most rifles shoot best with a black powder load of 10 - 30 grains higher than the caliber.
My .54 Hawken rifle uses a load of 80 grains of 2F.
A .50 caliber rifle may like a charge of 60 - 80.....
Andy

1690652545079.png

Aloha, Mark

Measuring the charge by volume is customary with muzzleloaders and perfectly safe.

If you're not hung up on custom, measuring by weight and using those plastic tubes is fine (I do). But you should first calibrate a volume-to-weight ratio for the powder you're using, as the two will differ. For example, Hodgdon 777 FFg will weigh about 80 grains (or 77.7 grains) for the equivalent 100 volume-grains.

Also be very clear in your notes and communication whether you're talking about grains-weight (grW) or grains-volume (grV).

Personally, I get better consistency and accuracy weighing. But it's nice to know I can pour by volume in a pinch.