JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok, I'm a rookie here and any advice is greatly appreciated. I've done a few searches on this topic and my reloading manual has a short explanation but I still come up a little befuddled. I understand all rifles are different and each has it's own distance to lands in the throat of the chamber. I have read that each gun has an optimum distance to which bullets are seated to give good accuracy. What tools would I need to find the best seating depth for my rifle and what is the proper way to check OAL on cartridges? Does case trim length play a big factor in seating depth and accuracy? Hoping a few veteran reloaders out there might enlighten me.

Case length is a component of seating depth, depending on the bullet, whether you crimp it, etc. The best thing to do is trim all of your cases to the "trim to" specification. If you're just getting started with brass and reloading, you won't have to trim them for a couple of reload cycles (unless you are shooting big bores or making Ackley brass).

For determing your MAXIMUM cartridge length, there are several methods. The fastest is to expand the neck of a case and seat, but not crimp, a bullet way out. The bullet must be movable, but, not loose. Then, carefully chamber the round (no powder here). The bullet will be pushed back into the case by the lands. Remove the cartridge, carefully, and measure it with your calipers. Subtract .005" and that's your maximum length. (If there are deep marks on the bullet, you had too much neck tension. If that happens, open it up and try again. The marks should be very faint, but, should be there.) Remember, it will change if you change bullet type. The reloading manuals give an average OAL for the caliber, but, you now have "personalized data".