JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
i am brand new to reloading, I have all the tools i think i need from reading online. i do a lot of hunting with both the 7 rm and the 06 i plan on using a 150 gr bullet. i have not got any powder or bullets yet was hopping to get some info from you guys before i bought them, what is some good hunting bullets and what would be a good powder for both these guns oh and primers. If i could get some of your favorite loads that would help me with a good starting point

thanks for any advise

Buy at least two reloading books from the companies who's bullets you want to us. Personally I use Hornady, Nosler, Sierra, and Speer bullets.

The Nosler Ballistic tip 150 gr is a favorite in -06 as is the Speer 130gr HP (does nasty things to a deer) And the good old Hornady 150gr SP is a fine general purpose bullet. I like both IMR 4895 and Hodgdan Varget in -06 Primers CCI or Winchester mostly.

As to loads get the books.

thanks mark i am going to get a few books just trying to fig out what bullet or books to get. iv seen a lot of good things about the nosler. have you ever used a barnes bullet ? and that IMR 4895 will it work good with the 7 rm some one told me to try the IRM 4350 have you used it before

If you really want accuracy your gonna do a lot of experimenting and probably find each rifle shoots better with more of its own "custom" load. Especially going from 06 to 7mag. Im sure you can do some cross referencing between manuals and find a powder that has loads for each gun. Some powders are made just for magnums and such. Sure they will go bang in anything but how well they do it is another story.