JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This old 12ga double is in rough shape , but will make a great wall hanger in my gun room .... but would like to know vintage and model # .... all I see on it is ...

Remington Arms Co.
Ilion NY USA

229473 ( ser# )
P - F5

ALSO ... is there any way to take the surface rust off without damage ?

Any help would be great ...
Thanks... Doug

DSC02250 (800x288).jpg

DSC02253 (800x585).jpg

DSC02248 (800x300).jpg

For a simple but effective rust removal method, go to You Tube and look up how to remove rust with a battery charger
and some Arm & Hammer Super Soda Wash.
You will be amazed how much rust will migrate to the sacrifice rod in 24 hours.
Dry with compressed air and then liberally spray the gun with WD-40. Then clean up with a medium stiff brass brush.

Looks like a Remington 1889, but hey, I'm no expert and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. :s0114:

This link should get you started:
<broken link removed>

Wouldn't the battery charger method also remove any bluing or browning?
Just curious, as I've never tried it...

I think that I'd try OOOO steel wool and a light oil first., and try it on the bottoms of the barrels first, just to see what it does.

I've used OOOO steel wool to remove surface rust in the past, without doing any damage to the remaining bluing on several different firearms, but I'd procede cautiously.

Also, in my experience with WD40 around machine tools, when the carrier evaporates, it seems to leave a somewhat gummy residue, so I don't think I'd use it on any parts inside the lock work, but maybe that's just me...

Yes, the Briggs & Stratton video is the same method.
Steel wool is not your friend, more firearms have been ruined by rubbing them with steel wool.