JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey all,

41 yr old husband and father of 2. I'm new to firearms but looking to get educated. My interest is mostly for fun with home defense as a backup. I lean left on my politics but right on rights. Easy going and eager to learn for myself and to help educate my boys on safety, responsibility and function. I believe all americans should know how to shoot despite being late to the game myself.

Welcome. As long as you support the right to keep and bear arms, you are welcome here, regardless of your other political leanings. This is a fun, healthy, and addictive hobby, and there is a wealth of knowledge here, along with a diverse group of people. :)

Welcome aboard.

I believe that there are some of the finest and most helpful people on this forum, some may even volunteer their time to help get you some firearm education. I'm not too familiar with what's up in the PdX area for classes but I know there are some.

Last Edited:
Any suggestions on location to take a class or specific classes? My exp. so far with stores has been a mixed bag at best.

Not up by you. Perhaps start a thread asking such a question, with your general local & such.

Down by me (Salem) I've taken simple introductory classes and concealed handgun for Oregon & Utah.

The simple introductory class was perfect for me, took it at Tritac (Salem). It was half classroom, the other half live fire with your own pistol or a rental. First time as an adult I fired a pistol...I think I only fired 2 magazines that class!

Classroom was pretty much just basic handgun/firearm safety, with fieldstrip instruction.

If you've never fired indoors before I highly recommend double ear protection. Earbuds + earmuffs.