JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys,

Sorry to top post as a new member, but I think what Im asking is a larger conversation: modularity of optics.

Im just getting into the rifle world. Bolt action, rimfire, and eventually some form of semi that I like the looks of.

Im strongly considering getting an ISSC MK22 rimfire .22 for plinking on the cheap and staying sharp. Its a fun little toy. But perhaps that $500 could be put to better use.

In any case, Im wondering of all the scopes discussed what single solution you would suggest for two fairly low end rifles - my RONI stock kit (converts a PX4 handgun into a carbine), and the ISSC? A red dot, an affordable BSA sweet, or a Mueller APV that is favorably mentioned a lot. Generally, are people for or against swapping out scopes and optics in general? Do you mate your scope to your gun, zero it, and keep it that way? Or do you shift yoru resources around?

The main reason Im asking is that Im saving the big bucks for my Tikka T3 scope when the time is right. Thats my ongoing project, and Im looking at Vipers, Leupold, etc. Thats a whole other conversation, but Id sure love to get away with something under the price of the rifle itself. Any word on a second hand tactical scopes while Im at it?

I hope Im not showing my ignorance by dancing around the central fact that Im trying to save a buck. You get what you pay for, we all know that. But I dont have that much invested in the carbine or the rimfire yet.

Thanks.

As for what scope kinda depends on what style will fit you use best.