JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
So I melt now and again for fishing, is there special requirements about the lead for making bullets?

Seems that I heard a more brittle lead is used for bullets where's for fishing weights it doesn't really matter.

Bill

Fisherman prefer lead that is soft for two reasons. First, it's normally cheaper to buy if it doesn't have tin. Secondly, the soft lead is perfect for sinkers that need to be crushed or deformed with a pliars.

Shooters, prefer lead that doesn't lead up the barrel too badly. Shooting at low speeds (<1300 fps) requires an alloy such as 96% lead and 4 % tin. Shooting at higher speeds (>1300 fps) requires a gas check and water drenched bullets (drop into ice water while still hot from mold). The harder bullets with gas check cause very little leading.

i have no personal experience with this but i was told that with high power rifles using lead rounds you should be closer to a 70/30 mix. is that invalid or can it be done in many ways? i ask because ill be moving into a place where i will have the space to load rounds and considering doing so.