JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have heard the same basic story from 3 different people in the last week or so. They all basically state that it is now illegal to carry (even with a permit) a “cocked and locked firearm without the safety on, or if the gun has no safety, it has to have an unloaded chamber”. In all cases they site the “Marysville cop daughter ND shooting” as the impetus of the newly enacted law.

I’ve read the RCWs (I’m not a lawyer and don’t play one on TV) and can’t find anything anywhere that dictates “condition of carry” (only the typical stuff about who can and can’t carry, permit regulations, etc.).

Has anybody else heard this rumor? Where and how the heck does this stuff get started? Can we start a better rumor? “One time, at band camp, I saw Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster both carrying chrome-plated sissy pistols with the hammer back…”

I told all parties that this seems to be a rumor and there doesn't seem to be any factual support for this story anywhere. I’d like to keep setting these folks straight and want to make sure I’m not contributing to any inaccurate information.

Any input would be appreciated.

Brian

This is so competently false. Before I got my gun a few years ago I made sure I knew all laws related to firearms. Since then I've kept up on any legislation they may try to pass especially recently and I haven't even seen a proposed bill with that crazy idea in it. Not even in the assault weapon ban legislation they tried to introduce that included yearly house search requirements. This is absolutely a rumor and the first I've heard of it and I highly doubt it would pass anywhere other than California, New York or Illinois