JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello everybody, looks like a great forum. I just purchased my first firearm a few days ago. With a wife and young sons my budget was very limited so after about 3 weeks of researching guns and gun laws I decided to go with a Hi Point 9mm C9. I really wanted to purchase the 40 when I was there cause I have always felt bigger is better but this is a good starting gun I think.

I have read lots of good and bad about them, and am pretty mechanically inclined and enjoy tinkering so if something goes wrong I figure I could mess with it or just send it in. I have watched quite a few videos about bending the clips and polishing the feed ramps. I am a total gun newb, but very enthused about learning and I am sure this will turn into a very expensive hobby for me down the road. I got the C9, an extra clip, a holster, and 2 boxes of PMC Bronze Ammo for $220 all new at a local gun shop.

I bought the 9mm for personal protection while out camping this summer as we plan on doing alot of that and for the home. I figure it was small enough that my wife could still comforatbly shoot it.

I plan to open carry while out camping so any opinions on that would be appreciated. I am still trying to figure out the exact laws on some things as far as carrying the gun in the car, it seems nobody really knows.....I do not have nor plan to get my CHL. Good places to go out and shoot close to Portland that you could recommend besides ranges would be appreciated.

It feels really good to own a handgun finally, I hope in the future I will be able to contribute to the site.

I am still trying to figure out the exact laws on some things as far as carrying the gun in the car, it seems nobody really knows.....I do not have nor plan to get my CHL.