JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am looking for a bear/moose defensive handgun with a barrel length between 4 and 7 and half inches that can shoot 454 Casull. I like how the balance and feel of smith and Wesson revolvers. But I am not familiar with the X frame they look very large and cumbersome. I also have no desire to shoot 460 magnum out of a handgun so I would only be running 45 colt and 454 out of it. The Taurus is the least expensive and most available and I have no experience with it. Any feedback would be appreciated. I am also located around Scio that commutes to Eugene so any suggestions where I can go and look at some of these revolvers would be appreciated

Based upon their warranty policies alone I would, and have since then, stayed way from Taurus. You might check out Smith & Wesson or Ruger instead. Regarding the X-frame, I have one in .500 Magnum. There is no getting around the fact it is a big, heavy handgun. However, I found it balances well, and the overall features are very nice indeed. At least the specimen I've owned and shot. Cheers. :)

I also have no desire to shoot 460 magnum out of a handgun so I would only be running 45 colt and 454 out of it.
Then why bother? Get a 44 Mag/45 Colt in the flavor of your choice and start shooting.

Ruger has a couple 480/454 options if you feel you need something larger than the typical magnums.

I had one of the original 500 magnums when they first came out. It was an easy gun to shoot, less recoil than my 5" 629. It was a neat gun, but ultimately just a toy.