JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I worked Hunter Sight-In Days this past Sunday at Douglas Ridge Rifle Club. For $6 per rifle, folks could come in and sight in their rifles for hunting season and just for general use. I worked as a coach helping people sight in their rifles

It never ceases to amaze me some of the things I see when I work these. I've actually come to view it more as a public service than anything else. You have to realize that the majority of the folks who come out for this probably fire their rifle just before and during hunting season and then put it away until next year.

A few of the more interesting events:

Had a guy who walked in with a Remington 7mm Mag. The ammo looked like it was very old or possibly handloads where the brass had not been tumbled. He was all over the paper at a Hundred yards and had trouble getting groups any smaller than a desert plate. I asked:

"Where did you get your ammo?"

"From my Uncle."

"Where did he get it?"

"I don't know."

"Does your uncle reload?"

"Yeah, I think he makes his own ammo."

"Is this ammunition he reloaded?"

"I don't know." :s0054:

He next brought out a Rem 700 in 30-06 with Winchester Silvertip factory 180Gr ammo and was getting decent groups. As he was leaving I tried to tactfully suggest, "You know if it were me, I'd probably use the 30-06 for your hunt this year with the same ammo you used to sight it in today".

Scenario 2

An older gentleman came out with a brand new Weatherby in 30-378 Weatherby Mag and a Nikon scope that he said he just bought from Wholesale Sports (formerly Sportsman's Warehouse) and that they mounted and bore sighted it for him.

That was my first warning.