JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been working 12hr graveyard shifts for a couple of years now. 6 pm to 6 am. I hate them. But, I can't afford to lose the $400 a month shift premium and my job search was torpedoed by the whole Covid thing.

So I deal with it. It's hard on my 50 yr old body to be transitioning to more normal sleeping times on my days off and I've just learned to accept staying up until 3 am on my days off and getting up around 10 am.

What's frustrating is that nobody seems to understand that I work graveyard. My family still plans events early in the day and just the other day, my dad called me at 8 am.

I have a colonoscopy scheduled for Monday at 1:30pm. I told the nurse that was the earliest I could be there due to my schedule. She then went over the medication procedure for the clean out and gave me the times for taking the meds. I told her that I would be sleeping during the time she wanted me to take the second dose. Sorry. Deal with it. Then, this morning, she called me at 8 am to verify I was still ready for the appointment. I was asleep for about 4 hours when she called. I told her I was sleeping when she called. She said, "oh, yeah. It says here you work graveyard shift." No apology.

I recently put an ad on Craigslist for some tires and put in the ad that I worked graveyard and no calls or texts before 2pm. Of course people started texting and calling at 6 am. WTF, people??

I'm sure there is a way on my Android phone to block all calls and texts during certain hours, so I'll have to research that.

Just frustrated that people can't do simple math or have any common courtesy to not bother me when I'm sleeping. I don't call or text people at 2 am when I'm wide awake and need to do business...

Rant over...