JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have been reloading on my 650 for over a year ow and used Tacoma ball and flake powders so far. I got a recommendation for H4895 for my 308 and 223 but I am concerned about the consistency of the drop in the powder dispenser with a stick powder. Before I buy the H4895 I wanted to pick your brains for any experiences you have had with it. A I right to be concerned or are there tricks to get it to load correctly consistently?

There is only ONE powder measure I know of that will consistantly and accurately measure stick powders.
All the others either cut them or allow the granules to "bridge" at the cartridge case neck when dumping and do an erratic job.
Go to: Quick Measure - The Accurate Powder Measure (I've met the inventer, and he is one sharp guy/engineer.)
fyi, I am not a newbie; and have a Redding turret, a Dillon 550, a Dillon 1050 and another set up for 50bmg.

motorman98 is right. I finally bought a Quick Measure a couple of weeks ago to load H4350 and Varget on my 650. Went from +/- .7gr to +/- .2gr with 4350 which has been the worst for consistent powder throws for me. Not a cheap solution but if you want to use stick powders, it's the only thing I have found that works.

Ron

Stick powders have always given me the "shake head side to side." It's in their nature to go "ka-chunk" when you operate the powder lever (cutting the sticks). But, some powders might be better than others. Oh well.

Anyway, I LIKE ball powders better for that main reason.

But......as for consistency of the drop........well, that comes with practice.

I wrote this for single station loaders NOT for progressive machines. BUT......it's still all about the STROKE, IMHO. ;)

Some people will set up their primed empties in a shell holder tray.