JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
After putting it off WAY too long I'm getting ready to go get my Oregon CCW. However, as a non resident, I must provide a latter stating my reason for wanting an Oregon permit, and that reason "must be compelling in nature."

I live in Vancouver and from what I've seen Columbia County is the way to go without a five hour drive. I've heard they're pretty good about issuing to nonresidents and they hold appointment free registration days a few times a month...one of which happens to be this coming Saturday in St. Helens.

So can anyone offer any tips on my letter? Or any other aspect? I have taken an NRA basic pistol course already and have held my WA CPL for almost ten years now. I also have my reference letters being filled out as we speak (type?). Anything I'm missing?

Unfortunately this is a new license not a renewal, and Multnomah County says on its website that it is currently not processing any out of state applications. My friend is getting his resident CCW and had a six month wait for his appointment to get in and get it done, so I imagine they're swamped.

Compelling Reason...

Do you have a need to drive into Oregon on a frequent basis, like for work?

Do you ever go to a shooting range in Oregon?