JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm just getting started with reloading hunting rounds for .270.

I've done some reading have some books, and recently picked up some equipment to start the process. After trying to pick up actual supplies it seems everything is available BUT large rifle primers. Seems they are a little scarce for the specific primer my load recipe calls for. I can find the generic GinX large rifle primers easily but don't know if you can use any LRP or if it has to be the specific named LRP called for in the load recipe.

(chuckling......) I suspect most of the answers will be use them or use what you can get, they will make it go boom......however I don't want the BIG BOOM! LOL

I'm specifically going to load:
.270 Barnes 129gr LRX BT with 52grains of IMR4350 (Max load data grains is 55.7c)
Calls for a Rem 9 1/2 primer

Just not sure how interchangeable primers are in these recipes. Just trying to be as safe as possible especially with things I'm new to and don't know if these have the same burn rate, heat rating, etc across the board. Looking for responses from people in the know on this.....

Thanks for feedback!

Although not for a .270, this image shows the effect of different components for 308 Win. Take note of the camber pressure changes in Table III when substituting primers.
wFB8Lul.jpg

If it was me, *Insert Disclaimer, I would probably go for it since you aren't really that close to the max load data. But I'd only load a few, just in case they are too hot. You could always go down and work back up to your load just to be safe.
Generally, I consider the minimum load data safe for swapping components, but if I'm not close to max I'll just go for it. Is that a load you have worked up too or are you just picking that as a starting point?

I'm specifically going to load: