JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Total beginner here but I seem to be missing this from my reading, do you clean the case before or after you deprime/resize? Is cleaning necessary if your reusing your brass you fired or it it meant more for the cases people pick up off the ground at ranges that probably have mud or dirt inside the case?

Cleaning before running thru the dies make the dies last longer. Best to get a depriming die, clean and then resize and so on. I do a light clean then size and then clean using stainless pins and wet tumbler to get the primer pocket and inside looking like brand new. If you dont want to get that picky just wash it then deprime/size and so on, I did it that way when I first started. Just make sure the primer pocket is clear of gunk (flash hole mainly) maybe even get a tool to clean them by hand. Wont be the prettiest but who cares......

Does the inside of the case need cleaning to remove powder residue?

Not necessarily. Like I mentioned in another thread recently, when I started loading back in the '80s, it seemed that most people (that I knew of) didn't own tumblers or case cleaners. It was easy to tell if someone's ammo was reloads by the look of the cases and the carbon on the case necks. Tumblers were more of a luxury. Nowadays everyone thinks they are an absolute necessity. Wash your brass with a little dish soap and maybe some lemishine if you want shiny, and it will be fine. If it's dirty at all, best to wash before sizing.

Everyone does it differently, and whatever works for you, but the way I do it is I wash my brass before sizing, and let it dry. Then I size using RCBS case lube. I like the RCBS lube because it's water soluble and rinses right off. Then I throw it into the wet tumbler because I like it nice and shiny. :)