JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I just went out today and sighted in a scope for the first time on my lever action rifle. One of the employees who helped me out recommended after I was done that I use blue loctite to secure the screws.

I have never used this type of super glue before and was just wondering if this is generally a good practice and if I ever need to is it possible to remove the glue to unmount the scope?

they were recommending to loctite the ring screws or what screws are you referencing?

if torqued properly you should not need to use loctite on base or ring screws

-J
Ring screws yeah.

Even if my scope is still not perfect I assume I can still apply the glue and scope it in again later? The point is just to keep the rings from coming loose and throwing off my zero right?

on a proper set of base and rings if they are torqued properly it is not needed. it will not hurt to put a non permanent loctite type product on the threads but honestly i dont know that i would tear down the set up just to do it.

for what its worth i don't run loctite on my personal or professional use rifles scope bases or rings. if anything a drop of oil on the threads to ensure a positive and accurate torque reading

- J

I think you probably should have degreased and used it on all base and ring screws before you sighted it in.
Loosening things after you zero, sort of defeats the purpose of zeroing.

The lock tight is there to prevent loosening and loss of zero, after you zero.
And to keep you from chasing your tail because you cant get the gun to zero.
It sucks when you notice something was loose, only after you fired 100 rounds and ordered a replacement scope. ;)