JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
They get very little traffic. I'm not a mechanic but I own ATVs that I maintain and have repaired and modified a few times. If you can't find anyone else, I'm happy to offer what limited advice I can.
Alright here goes.... took the right case cover off to replace the clutch last night and found all these rubber chunks and metal shavings in my motor. Then I notice my cam chain guide and tensioner look completely worn out. THEN I notice my cam chain is about to snap. Just wondering if this warrants a complete rebuild or just a new cam chain, guide, tensioner, and a good oil flush? Or maybe just a part out? It's a 2004 trx400ex

20220212_232935.jpg 20220212_232729.jpg 20220212_232537.jpg 20220212_232521.jpg

That looks like a lot of gunk between the chain and the case. If that's just rubber, it seems like a lot, but I don't know what part it would have come from (tensioner? some bushing? don't know anything about the t-rex motor). If it's mostly broken-down oil and clutch material you're probably fine.

Outside that, I'd look for undue wear on all the moving parts you can see from in there - bearings, gears, etc. If there's nothing worn down or scored and nothing wobbles if you push or pull on it, I wouldn't bother with a rebuild. Your cam chain plan sounds solid to me. I think there are some videos on that. There are for my Suzuki, although I haven't needed that yet. 🤞

It would probably be wise to get an opinion from a motorcycle or automotive mechanic. There are several on this forum.

I pass Graham on the I5 a few times a year. If you want, the next time I'm down that way I can bring an endoscope with me, and we can get a look at the piston and cylinder wall, just for peace of mind.