JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm a newbie when it comes to mechanical things. The only hardware and tools I have is a multi screw driver. I was looking for some advice on polishing up an akms internals. It doesn't rack smoothly and gets sticky. I would also like to polish the chamber. If anything I could pay someone to do the work for me. Help anyone?
-Ben

Shoot a couple of K through it.

If you are just manually cycling and feeling it hang a little, thats normal in a semi AK as the carrier rides over the hammer. Do not polish the chamber.

It hangs directly over the hammer, but if you think it's fine, I'll take your word for it. And what's your reasoning on not polishing the chamber? I don't know if it makes a difference but it's chrome lined and chf.

Look at the bolt carrier where it rides on the rails in the receiver and those rails. If there are any burrs in them, then that may cause the action to be more rough than it should be. Otherwise, an AK is an action that can feel rough in comparison to other rifles, but as long as it feeds and extracts, it is probably okay, and it is one of the more durable and reliable semi-auto rifles.

This is my 2nd akm variant. The previous akm I had was a sar 556. It wasn't very reliable and would jam once every 10 shots. Put 100 rounds through it. So I just sold it. So it just worries me to deal with another akm that isn't 100% reliable.

Yep, what was said above.
Hand cycling the bolt makes it hang up on the hammer.

When fired, there is enough force where it wont get hung up. About a thousand rounds and it'll be smooth as glass.
You can send it in to a few companies that'll polish them up for you.

Pauly's glass bolt*.. or something like that is one I know of.