JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have decided to give a minimalist type lifestyle a shot. I am a Soldier finishing up my enlistment and have gotten a little used to not owning a bunch of stuff and having a big space. My goal is to own as little as possible. Quality of quantity is high on my list of priorities. The hardest part for me so far has been firearms. There are so damn many and I want them all!! ha why yes a S&W 500 sounds great...hmmm 6.8 Piston AR-15...357 sig, how neat....before I know it I will have 20 guns. Before I joined the Army I had random firearms in various conditions and calibers. I sold them all off and haven't regretted it since I knew I would get more and none of them were particulair rare or special.
I have decided to try to keep it down to just 5. The list and explanations as follows.
1. A good quality semi-auto 308 for all around hunting and shtf. I feel every man should have a Battle rifle/carbine and I spent a chunk fixing up a Garand excatly the way I want it. The added bonus was that it was a gift and has sentimental value.
2. A fullsize .357( I went with a 6" Colt Trooper). 357 is versatile and has a wide variety of bullet weights as well as .38 special. I considered 45 and 10mm but went the wheel gun route.
3. A J-frame 340/360 for carry. Also in 357.
4. A 12g Shotgun.
5. As much as I hate 5.56 I think it has its place. Easy shooting and plentiful. I also have a rediculous amount of time shooting them under my belt and that has value.

I have the first 2 on the list and I am working my way down. I am pretty set on the J-frame but not on the 5.56(it will NOT be direct gas impingement) or the shotgun. Interested in thoughts and suggestions. Keep in mind I will be living in Portland and trying my hand at this College nonsense everyone keeps talking about.