JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm looking for recommendations for a good 9mm powder. Looking for one that is hard to double charge. I'm reloading 9mm 125 and 147 grain polymer coated bullets. Looking to load them to 130-135 PF. I shoot mainly steel challenge and pin matches. Hey., someone has got to place 18th. :rolleyes:

I have a lee loadmaster for now. Yes I know.

Ideas? I like simple.

HS-6 has been my go to for 9mm and .40 since shortly after I started loading in 2011. Measures great, has good case fill, (better than titegroup and W231/hp38 etc) and has a wider range from min to max. And runs cleaner in those higher pressure rounds.

Based on the percentage of the case a powder charge will fill, Power Pistol & Unique both look good.

Good info in the link from LSWC. Note that all of the minimum charges are above 50% so they are going to be pretty full with a double charge. That's with the 115's anyway, the heavier bullets will differ.

OK, when I started reloading 9mm, BE and Unique were the most popular powders for most pistol calibers, but I stopped reloading for a while.
Fast forward 10+ years and upon return to reloading, a new batch of "best" powders were on the scene, and I started using w231/hp38.
After another reloading hiatus, I find yet another generation of new "best" powders available to choose from :confused:.
I've stuck with HP38 though, only because I bought a bunch during the Obama years, and it has performed well.

Any of the proven "go to/best" powders, past or present will get you what you are looking for with the bulkier ones working best to show a double charge.
Changing to coated bullets from traditionally lubed cast has been the most beneficial change for me to date, because it shoots/loads so much cleaner.